Posted by: rshalomw | July 13, 2008

IS THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH THE ONLY TRUE CHURCH?

I was raised as a Catholic and stayed in the church for 28 years.  Served as an  altar boy during elementary school.  Attended Mass weekly.  The Catholic Church I attended in elementary school was Mary centered and I regularly prayed the rosary. Went to confession regularly and confessed my sins to a priest who told me how many Our Father and Hail Mary prayer to pray for my penance  Through the Catholic Church Masses and special services I gained a sense of reverence for God.  My mom was a very dedicated  Catholic and I believe wanted to see me one day become a priest.  As a young Catholic, I really didn’t  realize there were any other Churches beside the Catholic Church.

I attended a Public High School and went to C.C.D. (Confraternity of Catholic Doctrine) classes weekly and Mass on Sundays.  Still prayed the Rosary and prayed prayers from a Catholic prayer book.  All my family on my mom’s side of the family were Catholic.  I knew nothing beside Catholicism and proudly informed friends who were not that I was a Catholic.  In College, I still attended Masses, but not every week.  Throughout all this time, I never really read my Catholic Bible.  I was never encouraged by the Church or my family to read the Bible, this was not a regular discipline of the Catholic Church teachings.  The Mass is central in Catholicism.

Up to this point, I knew about Jesus, but I did not know Him.  I was taught that because I was baptized as a child that this was how I entered His Kingdom.  My change did not come about until a couple years after I graduated from college.  A friend invited me to see the movie “JONI” and through this movie, for the first time in my life, I knew that I was a sinner in need of Salvation.  I confessed my many sins to Jesus and asked Him to come into my heart and change my life  I was truly born again.  This is a term that has been grossly abused, but it is simply a spiritual rebirth.  I brought my sins to Him, and in exchange He gave me a new life.

For about seven years I was a part of the Catholic Charismatic Renewal.  This brought a wonderful “breath of fresh air” to me and others that were a part of it.  Wave after wave of the Love of Jesus washed over me during this time.  Jesus is above religion.  Jesus is above ritual.  Jesus is above tradition.

I stayed for seven years in the Catholic Church after I  came to Salvation, and was teachings teenagers in C.C.D classes.  I quoted a scripture to them and said the Bible says that “If we confess or sins to Him, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness”. A student asked, “If this is true, why do we go to Confession?  I don’t remember what I said, but through this I knew I could no longer  stay in the Catholic Church.  I loved my parents deeply and knew how much this would hurt them, but knew that in order to follow Jesus I had to leave.

I started attending a Non-Denominational Church where I learned the importance of reading the Bible daily and obeying the teachings of Jesus.  I was also baptized, which is an outward expression of what happened spiritually when I came to Salvation.  I died to my old way of life and received a new life.  I am still amazed to this day how the Lord changed my life.  This Church also had a great love for Israel and it was then that I started learning about the Jewish roots of the Faith.  My life has never been the same since I came to Salvation.

I love all the Catholic part of my family and they are all good and loving persons.  They know I  have changed, but really don’t understand.  It is very difficult for people to understand why “Good” people will not make it to Heaven.  Isaiah 64:6  All of us has become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous [good} acts are like filthy rags. (NIV) God is Perfect and he requires perfection.  Since none of us are perfect, this is why we need a Savior.

The following are some of the observations I made looking back on having been a Catholic: 1:  I learned the Catholic doctrine on Baptism, but not the Biblical one.  Babies who die will automatically go to heaven because they are not of the age of reason.  Everyone else must have a personal revelation of their need.  Mark16:6 Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.(NIV)
2.  I never learned the doctrine of being Born Again.  John3:3  Jesus said:  “I tell you the truth, no one can see the Kingdom of God unless he is born again.
3. 
There is a big difference between the Catholic doctrine of Confession and the Biblical doctrine of Repentance.  True repentance is a turning away from sin and and choosing God’s way.  Paul said in Acts 26:20  I preached that they should repent and turn to God and prove their repentance by their deeds.(NIV)
4.  I never heard a Salvation message preached in the Catholic Church.
5.  I never heard a priest give sinners an opportunity to come to Salvation at a Catholic funeral service.
6.  I never learned what is was to be a disciple of Jesus.  How to follow and obey him daily.

The Catholic church teaches that Peter was the First Pope.  How can this be?  Peter was a Jew.  As a Jew he would not have known what the word Pope meant.  The first believers were all Jewish with the exception of the Apostle Luke (who was likely a convert to Judaism).  Peter did not become a Roman Catholic.  He was a Jewish person who embraced his Messiah. Tragically the Catholic Church stripped the Faith of it’s Jewish roots and the Catholic Church became the “new” Israel and the new “Priesthood”.  This is why Antisemitism was a problem throughout Catholic Church History, with the exception of recent Popes who have spoken out against this.

To read the difference between Roman Catholic Doctrine and Biblical Doctrine please check out the following links:  http://www.ankerberg.org/Articles/_PDFArchives/roman-catholicism/RC4W0999.pdf
 http://www.ankerberg.org/Articles/_PDFArchives/roman-catholicism/RC3W0701.pdf
http://www.ankerberg.org/Articles/_PDFArchives/roman-catholicism/RC2W1299.pdf

If you know you are not right with God, repent [t’shuvah in Hebrew].   Repent  means to turn from doing things your way and turning to God’s ways.  Trust in Jesus [Yeshua], not yourself.  Ask Him to fill you with the Holy Spirit [Ruach HaKodesh]   Attend a Church that believes that the Bible is the inspired Word of God.  Get baptized.  Read your Bible daily and follow the teachings of Jesus [Yeshua]  Walk in His Love to all you come in contact with.

                                                                 Shalom in Jesus

Responses

  1. I married a catholic girl and gained some knowledge of the catholic church and priesthood.
    It was foreign to everything I had been raised to believe as a Christian. The catholic church is full of
    idolatry and mysticism and the priesthood and popery is a sham. I don’t say this lightly as I’ve done much study on that religion and the more study the more I believe it is anti-christian. We have good friends who are catholic and it grieves me that they still havn’t come to the truth. I pray for them and all those who have been indictrinated or born into this false christianity. We have one Saviour and one mediator between God and man and His name is Jesus. Confessing to a priest does you no more good than confessing to your bar tender, neither will be of any benefit to you. Calling some man (the pope) holy father is an insult to our Father in Heaven and those who do it is deceived. When a catholic is truly saved he or she will eventually have to leave the catholic religion. That false christianity does more harm to mankind by their teachings than probably all the wars that has ever been faught. I do not hate these people, on the contrary I love them and pray that they will read the Bible for themselves that they might know the truth and be saved. In Christ, Harry Lee


Leave a Reply

Categories

