Posted by: rshalomw | June 20, 2008

FROM ZERO TO ZERO

I was born to a Polish Catholic mother and a Jewish Father.  My parents agreed to raise me as a Catholic to bring peace to the family. My parents told me that there was  much suspicion on both sides of the families because of the mixed marriage.  My parents were wonderful and I always felt loved by them.  My Dad  said his prayers in Hebrew, but he never taught me any Hebrew or cultural understanding of the Jewish life.

I can remember receiving my First Communion and asking Jesus into my heart, but I never heard about being  Born Again. John 3:3  Jesus declared , “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again. I never learned what it meant to be a disciple of Jesus.  I was a good Catholic and went to Mass, confession, and prayed the Rosary; but as I grew older I fell away from these practices.

I didn’t know the difference between confession and Yeshiva (Repentance). True repentance is to have Godly sorrow about your sin and not turn back to that sin.  I confessed my sins, but I managed to turn back to them again. I had no power to live a life that was pleasing to the Lord.  I ended up doing whatever I wanted to whenever I wanted to.  I would excuse my sins by saying no one is perfect and God is Love so he understands and forgives me.

In 1980 a friend invited me to go to a Christian movie.  It was the “Joni” movie about the girl who becomes a quadlerpegic from a diving accident.  As I was watching this movie the Holy Spirit began to melt my hardened heart and deceived mind.  I was very athletic at the time and it was like the Holy Spirit was saying to me: she has lost everything you hold valuable and yet she has joy, but you have everything and don’t have joy.  I was heading back home on Interstate 75 when I just broke down and started sobbing.  For the first time in my life, I knew that I was a sinner in need of Salvation. I asked Jesus to forgive me of all my sins and to make me His.  From that moment on I was on fire for Jesus, and the fire has never burned out.

I stayed for 7 years in the Catholic Church, before I left. Because I wasn’t reading the Bible, about 3 years after my salvation, I got immersed into the New Age Movement and deep meditation. I had fallen for the lie that Christianity and Eastern Religion could merge.  I was so deep into meditation that I emptied my mind of everything, even the thought of God.  When a friend who monitored my meditation asked me how I was doing and I told him of emptying my mind of even the thought of God, he told me “do you realize what demonic forces you could have opened your mind to.  When he told me this, I immediately thought of a book a Christian friend had told me to read.  “The Beautiful Side of Evil”.  I went to the bookstore and purchased that book and read it entirely that night.   I renounced all my involvement in the New Age Movement and the Lord delivered and cleansed me.

I was teaching CCD (Confraternity of Catholic Doctrine) classed to teenagers when I quoted a scripture to the class.  I said the Bible says that if we confess or sins to him, he is faithful and just  and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness 1John 1:9.  A student raised their hand and said “if this is true, why do we go to confession?”  I don’t remember what I said to that student, but I knew I could no longer be a Catholic.  I started attending a Bible believing church in 1987, and have been following the Lord ever since.

When the secretary at the Bible believing church found out that my dad was Jewish, she told me: “You are Jewish.”  I started learning about the Jewish roots of the Faith, and it has added a richness to my walk with the Lord. Understanding the cultural context of the Faith is wonderful.  account (Jesus) is may all in all.  He means everything to me .  I treasure the word of the Bible.  Hebrews 4:12-13  For the word of God is living and active.  Sharper then any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.  Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight.  Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.

2Corinthians 5:17  “Therefore, if anyone is united with the Messiah, he is a new creation
the old is passed; look, what has come is fresh and new!”  (Complete Jewish Bible by David Stern).   the Ruach HaKodesh  (Holy Spirit) is essential.  Galatians 5:16  “What I am saying is this:  run your lives by the Spirit.  Then you will not do what your old nature wants.”

If you know you are not right with God, repent [t’shuvah in Hebrew].   Repent  means to turn from doing things your way and turning to God’s ways.  Trust in Jesus [Yeshua], not yourself.  Ask Him to fill you with the Holy Spirit [Ruach HaKodesh]   Attend a Church that believes that the Bible is the inspired Word of God.  Get baptized.  Read your Bible daily and follow the teachings of Jesus [Yeshua]  Walk in His Love to all you come in contact with.

 The title I gave this blog was for a reason.  Before I came to salvation I was a Zero, and after I came to salvation I still need to be a Zero, because without him I am nothing.  Matthew 17-24  Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  For whoever wants to save his life will loose it, but whoever looses his life for me will find it.  Reinhard  Bonke (a German Evangelist) says that without Jesus we are a Zero, but since God is one, when we have him we become a perfect 10.

2Corinthians 6:2  I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.

 

                                                      Shalom in Jesus

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

